Wedding Review, February 2019

I attended a wedding here and could not fault the venue , the staff or the food. Everything was first class ad the staff worked hard to ensure everyone enjoyed the day and there were no hitches along the way . The wedding meal was hot and there was plenty of it. Staff worked quickly to get everyone their meals without delay. The buffet on the night time was plentiful and hot .

Wedding Venue,May 2018

What an amazing day, besides the Hotel being faultless, the sun shone all day. Having worked in hotels for a number of years and organising a large number of weddings this hotel, offers amazing slick attentive staff looking after you, with a friendly attitude towards guests. Delicious food hot and well presented, attention to detail in its delivery. Catering for a number of guests is not easy, but this establishment has it down to a tee! ! Bedrooms spotlessly clean and very well presented, great fluffy pillows, firm mattress and lovely duvet. There is nothing more to say, except I thoroughly enjoyed my stay at your establishment. A big thank you to everyone that looked after us at Louisa and Michael special day

Wedding Review,  May 2018

My Husband and I held our evening wedding reception in this beautiful hotel. We were very well looked after by the staff. They were all amazing. Going the extra mile for us. The rooms and the setting of the hotel are lovely and we had a perfect wedding day

Wedding Review, April 2018
We recently were married at the Downe Arms. We found Phil the owner to be brilliant and nothing was too much trouble. All staff were polite and helpful we would certainly recommend the Downe Arms to anyone looking for a wedding venue

Wonderful Winter Wedding, March 2018
Wow, fantastic, our wedding at the Downe Arms was a perfect day. The whole team contributed to a truly wonderful day! The food was excellent, served by efficient, happy, friendly and dedicated staff. We were thoroughly looked after for the whole day. Our guests were overwhelmed with the food and accommodation. We would highly recommend the Downe Arms if you are planning a wedding to remember

Wedding Review, August 2017
We had our wedding at The Downe Arms on Saturday 5th August and the day was absolutely perfect. The Downe Arms Team were absolutely amazing throughout the planning process right up until our check-out from the hotel as husband and wife. The wedding team were on hand over the phone and through email to make sure every detail was spot on and they coordinated the day perfectly. Their ceremony and reception rooms looked beautiful, we were allowed to drop off items a couple of days ahead to be stored at the venue, we were helped to set up and clear down and the food we chose for the menu was delicious. We booked a large group table in the restaurant on the Friday before the Saturday wedding and had all of our requests met. After all our guests had left and we also spent the Sunday night alone in the hotel – again in the beautiful bridal suite – and treated ourselves to a three course meal again in the restaurant and were even given two complimentary glasses of fizz to celebrate. The outside garden area looked lovely with plants and flowers around and was perfect for family photographs following the ceremony. Our wedding was truly the best day of my life and The Downe Arms made every detail unforgettable. Thank you!

WeddingReview, August 2017

We were invited to the wedding of the daughter, Natalie, of one of my wife’s relatives. It was an absolutely lovely wedding for a lot of reasons. A very happy couple, lovely friends and family plus the food and staff at the Downe Arms. We had tried the food a couple of weeks previously and it was excellent then too.
It was a memorable day for Natalie and her new husband Frankie and also for all of us present at the Downe Arms. Thank you

Wedding Review, August 2017
Thankyou for a first class day. No detail missed. Happy friendly attentive and professional staff. Lovely bedrooms. Everyone said the food was top notch. Good platefuls with extra potatoes veg and gravy offered too. We all loved it.

Wedding Review, July 2017

My son and his fiance had there wedding here on the 14th July from start to finish there day was perfect beautiful food served staff very welcoming even the manager went above and beyond my soninlaw didn’t like any starters went to kitchen brought him tomato soup also ice cream after just wanna say thank you to all involved.

Daughters Wedding, July 2017
what can I say ,everything went great from start to finish, the wedding service was lovely(yes I cried)the afternoon tea for 86 people was more than plenty ,staff came round filling plates up ,very every helpful, the evening meal was just as good, the venue and staff gave 100% and would highly recommend having a wedding there, as it was our only daughters wedding we couldn’t have picked a better venue, even the weather was on our side so a BIG thank you to all the people that helped made it a day we wont forget thank you xxxxx

Our Amazing June Wedding, June 2017
Myself and my husband held our wedding ceremony at the Downe Arms this Saturday and it was amazing. During the planning process all the staff were more than happy to assist in any way possible to make it the most memorable day for us. Wedding coordinators who helped us, Vicky and Hannah were lovely and we cant thank them enough for all there efforts to work round our requests.

On the day the hotel was beautiful and clean, the King Jewel room was set up as we asked and all the other staff were on hand all day to assist our guests with drinks. The wedding breakfast was delicious, we had a choice of: tomato and basil soup, chicken liver pate, roast beef, smoked salmon, sticky toffee pudding and vanilla cheesecake with great potion sizes. All our guests couldn’t speak enough of how lovely it was. The outside garden space was ideal for our day as we had it on the hottest day of the year and we spent it in the sun. Our bridal suit was gorgeous, lovely view down into Wykeham village, decor to a high standard and the facilities we couldn’t of asked for anything more. Breakfast was also very nice as we had a choice of what full English we would like, which is a great touch.

Overall we couldn’t fault any part of our day, everything went to plan and it wouldn’t of happened without the amazing team at the Downe Arms. We have been to several weddings before ours and the service hasn’t changed at all, it was even better. The staff will go above and beyond to help. We would recommend anyone who is planning there special day, to have The Downe Arms at the top of there venue list. Amazing doesn’t even cover it. Thank you again xxx

Wedding Review, May 2017
I really can’t recommend this hotel enough! I stayed for a family wedding and this was just perfect for our stay and the wedding reception. Our room, a standard double with an an suite bathroom was spacious and clean. The bed was comfy and both my husband and I enjoyed a good night sleep. We were lucky enough to have a view over the nearby fields and although on the main road, not be disturbed by passing traffic.

The staff are very welcoming, pleasant and helpful and the food is delicious. Our breakfasts were fabulous and possibly the best I’ve had. The food at the wedding reception was very tasty and well cooked and there was plenty to go around.

I will be returning for another visit and they also have special offers available so I’m really looking forward to another weekend of pure self indulgence!

Thank Downe Arms for a fabulous weekend.

© The Downe Arms 2011
The Downe Arms Country Inn, Main Road, Wykeham,Scarborough, YO13 9QB

Join us on Facebook  Join us on Facebook AA Four Star Inn award

Tel: 01723 862471
Fax: 01723 865096
Email: info@downearmshotel.co.uk

Designed & Developed by: Four Degrees West Limited